Sands Anderson Confirms 2020 Board of Directors

Sands Anderson PC confirmed its 2020 leadership with the re-appointment of Margaret F. Hardy to serve as firm President, and the re-election by shareholders of Brian R. Pitney to serve on the Board of Directors along with Jeffrey H. Geiger and Hardy.

Hardy thanked the firm for the support of her leadership and initiatives and stated “We are open for business in 2020 and eager for strategic opportunities with other excellent lawyers and law firms.”

Hardy joined the Board in 2016 and was elected the firm’s first female president in 2017. She continues her leadership roles as the managing shareholder of the firm’s Fredericksburg office and as the Healthcare Group Leader. She is the current President-Elect for the Virginia Women Attorneys’ Association. Hardy is among Virginia Lawyers Weekly’s Class of 2020 Influential Women of Law, has been consistently included in Virginia Business magazine’s “Legal Elite” for health law, as well as listed in Super Lawyers® for medical malpractice defense. Along with her law degree, Hardy earned an MBA and holds a nursing license.

Geiger was elected to the Board in 2018. He is the firm’s General Counsel and served as the Business and Professional Liability Litigation Group Leader for 10 years. Geiger focuses his practice on legal malpractice defense/legal ethics, eminent domain and business litigation. He has been included among Virginia Business magazine’s “Legal Elite” since 2005, listed in Super Lawyers® in Business Litigation since 2007, and was named to Virginia Lawyers Weekly’s 2013 Class of Leaders in the Law.

Pitney was first elected to the Board in 2017. He is a member of the firm’s Business Group and served as the Business Group Leader for 12 years. Pitney advises clients in business formations, commercial real estate, commercial transactions, and mergers and acquisitions. He has been listed in Virginia Business magazine’s “Legal Elite” since 2006, named to The Best Lawyers in America® in 2019 and 2020, and was featured among Virginia Lawyers Weekly’s 2019 Class of Leaders in the Law.